About Amington Band

Amington Band has been in existence for over 100 years, rehearsing every week, entertaining the people of Tamworth and taking part in contests.  As a band we take pride in this, and we're committed to keep the legacy going, the entertainment flowing and brass players blowing.  Over the years the band has been placed in all sections; from fourth to the championship section.  Right now we're a 3rd section band but we aim high and constantly try to improve.  You can read more about our illustrious history on our history page!

Our band is made up of around 25 brass players, about 3 percussionists and 1 Musical Director - Alan Gifford.  We have a large age range of players but nevertheless we're all equal.   The band has a written constitution which we follow and this is backed by the band committee.

The committee has both playing and non playing members and is chaired by Alan Gifford (Senior).  They meet once a month to discuss band matters, plan upcoming events and to democratically decide the best way for the band to move forward in the future.

The whole band enjoys playing at a wide range of events throughout the year, from concerts in halls to Christmas carols outdoors, garden fetes, festivals and even weddings!

We also offer our smaller, Amington 10 Piece Brass Ensemble; catering for occasions where a full band might not be necessary or space is limited.  In this we provide a chamber music experience not only for the listeners but also as additional musical training for our players, who learn extra skills by playing without a conductor.

We rehearse on Sundays from 6:30pm - 8:30pm and Wednesdays from 8.00pm until 10.00pm in our purpose built Band Room on Sharpe Street in AmingtonWe welcome all players to come and play with us, whether you want to join us or just want to come and have a blow!

Amington Band Management Committee


Band Chairman Alan Gifford Sr
Band Secretary Daniel Baxter
Band Treasurer  
Band PR & Social Media Steph Glenwright
Committee Member Dave Glenwright
Committee Member  
Committee Member  
Librarian Bill Walton